Tuning OUT

Yeah, yeah, yeah. My blog is titled “Tuning In” but today I just want to tune everything OUT. It’s Sunday afternoon. The house isn’t on fire, I did the dishes last night, the laundry is washed, dried, hung, folded and okay… half of it needs to be put away. And the living room is in clutter chaos for week 4. But still. I don’t want to DO anything. It’s Sunday. God commands us to REST on this day, but my feeble brain is trying to give me a guilt-trip without a return ticket.

I managed to stay in my jammies ’til nearly 1 p.m., but did a quick run to my mom’s house with four raw pork chops to throw on the grill to share a meal while my brother Richard and his family are visiting pre-Father’s Day. Totally worth it just to hear his car repair story that led to purchasing a brand new Nissan Maxima! On the down-side of rushing out of the house with raw pork chops, I neglected to brush my hair, teeth and even apply the barest amount of makeup. I’m talking NAKED FACE. So I was taken by surprise when Richard whips out his recent birthday present iPad and snaps a picture of me before I could even scream “No!” Sigh. Such is life when you have 3 brothers and 3 sisters.

My husband took his afternoon nap in two sessions today–before in-laws and after in-laws. I read a news report recently that men who take midday naps have reduced risk of heart attacks, so in addition to his naps giving ME free time, they’re healthy for HIM, too! Win-win!

So, I’m going to focus on the good things in life this evening by doing the BARE MINIMUM. I’m tuning out and I’m gonna sip water (I’m thirsty!) and read a free book I downloaded today on my Kindle Fire (Messages by John Michael Hileman).

Book 1 in the David Chance series.

Book 1 in the David Chance series.

Leave a Reply

