Tech-Savvy to Some, Tech-Challenged to Others

If you were to rate yourself in the “Tech-Savvy” department from 1 to 10 (no zeroes because, hey, you’re reading this on a computer, duh!) what number pops into your mind?  Is it easy to make a determination? It depends on who wants to know, doesn’t it?

To folks who have no clue about “bookmarking” a website on their computer, you’d easily score the mighty TEN.  But if Bill Gates is asking, you’d probably go with a realistic number and say seven.  (I’m thinking you’re pretty darn smart! You read blogs!)

Evernote

Evernote (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Computer events can make my tech-savvy number feel like a TEN… like when my Evernote app syncs between my iMac, iPhone and iPad mini it’s just the best feeling in the world. Wahoo! On the other hand, when my iPhoto app on the iMac crashes and fails and downright REFUSES to open, my tech-savvy number plummets to THREE. (It’s been three weeks since I’ve been able to upload photos. I feel so STUPID!) The first thing that popped into my mind three weeks ago is that I couldn’t add any new photos to my blog posts, and then I stomped my foot in frustration. I haven’t started cursing yet; I’m a pretty patient gal, slow to anger and all that.  (Side note: my hubby is thankful for this trait, hence the 35+ years of marriage to HIM.) 

I took a running leap (of faith) and joined the NaBloPoMo challenge late Sunday evening,  and was feeling like a NINE for finding the sign-up link. (It took me more than 10 minutes to wade through several pages, but I found it!) Then I started searching for the linky thing-a-ma-jig to add my NaBloPoMo posts each day… but instead found something which MIGHT NOT BE what I’m looking for … it included the word SOUP in the link name. Now I wonder if I’m lost …  that if I use the link my entry will be posted in an online cookbook challenge. My  tech savvy-number is now TWO.

I want to ask someone for help, but I need to know that their tech-savvy number is higher than mine, but not so high that I don’t understand a word they say.  Because I am a control-freak and hard-headed, I’ll fumble and tumble around a bit, hoping to hit a base run to the NaBloPoMo link before the sun rises on Monday.

And in my bumbling stumbling quest, I hope to find the “badge” to add to my site. Not exactly sure how or what to do with it, but some niggling voice in my head thinks that it’ll be cool to display it. Is this it?

NaBloPoMo: Glorious Madness

NaBloPoMo: Glorious Madness (Photo credit: cizauskas)

Leave a Reply

